Sourav Ganguly takes over as BCCI President.

Sourav Ganguly takes over as BCCI President:

Former Indian captain Sourav Ganguly today took over as the new chairman of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in Mumbai. He is the 39th President of BCCI. With this, the Committee of Administrators (COA) constituted by the Supreme Court was dissolved 33 months ago. Saurav Ganguly is elected unopposed. He will continue in this position till July 2020.
Sourav Ganguly takes over as BCCI President

Former COA chief Vinod Rai said he was satisfied with Ganguly becoming the president. He said, “Our job was to implement the Constitution. We conducted the BCCI elections as per the constitution itself. We were following the orders given by the Supreme Court.

Jai, son of Home Minister Amit Shah, took the post of treasurer Arun Dhumal, brother of Secretary and Minister of State for Finance Anurag Thakur. Apart from these, Mahim Verma of Uttarakhand and Jayesh George of Kerala became Joint Secretary. Ganguly shared a photo with Jai Shah, Anurag and Arun on Twitter on October 15.

A bench of Justices SA Bobde and Justice N Nageswara Rao ordered the COA to be dissolved on Tuesday. The COA was constituted in 2017 by the Supreme Court based on the recommendations of Chief Justice RM Lodha for conducting BCCI.

‘We will fix everything in the next few months’

Saurav Ganguly said on October 14, after filing his nomination for the post of BCCI President, “Whatever happened in the last three years, it is a very important time for the Indian cricket administration. Being in a role where I can do something different with the team would be very gratifying. Hopefully in the next few months we will fix everything and bring Indian cricket to normalcy. “

Saurav Ganguly will be in office for 10 months

Saurav Ganguly will be the President of BCCI for only 10 months. As per the recommendations of the Lodha Committee, no person can stay in the state or BCCI for more than 6 consecutive years and Ganguly has been the President of the Bengal Cricket Association (CAB) since 2014. In such a situation, he will be able to be the BCCI President till July 2020. After this, he will have to go on a cooling period of three years. That is, they cannot hold any position in the state or BCCI for three years.

Read more

India vs South Africa: Rohit Sharma breaks Ben Stokes record.

Leave a comment